Neighborhood

Snowy frozen bush night

January 20, 2014 – Today I fought with a snow bank. The damn trash can was frozen to the side of the house by the snow dropped from the roof. It was trash day and I haven’t put the trash out for a couple weeks so that thing is full. But now I guess I can’t because it won’t move and the closest thing I have to a shovel is a broom. I tried attaching with the broom but ended up getting the broom stuck in the snow and I felt like the entire neighborhood was laughing behind their curtains. The car started and the defroster worked. So that’s good at least.

 

January 25, 2014 – I bought a box of big trash bags. Since I can’t get the stupid trash can out of the snow, I figure I’ll stock pile my trash in the bag until next trash day and just set the bag out there. I’ve seen other people do it and haven’t noticed any bears or wild things roaming around. There are some dogs around here because I hear them bark sometimes at night when I come home. But I think it’ll be okay.

 

January 27, 2014 – Set the trash bag out for pick up as planned. Left for work around ten and it was gone when I got home at nine. Also, it looks like the snow plow person plowed my driveway. That’s kind of nice. I got out of my car and looked around like I should find him or her and say thanks. Tired from working I guess. Silly. It was quiet as a mouse except for those barking dogs. I guess they hear my car at night.

I see cat tracks in the snow on my porch that look like whatever it is hangs out until I come around the corner and then takes off. I mean they are fresh tracks so it must leave right before I park or something. Listen to me – like I’m Davy Crockett or something.

Work was long and busy. Same as always. Came home; turned on the heat; cooked some ramen noodles for dinner. Will probably stay up too late reading; fall asleep on the couch and hit the pillow around two like always.

 

January 30, 2014 – The snow really makes things seem super quiet. It’s actually driving me a little batty. Today I took the day off and slept in. Woke up around eleven and rushed to turn the heat in the living room back up. Damn blinds by that window are warped and I forgot to put my housecoat on. Didn’t seem like anyone saw me but I rarely see anyone outside, just feel them. Weird. Goose bumps and all that.

Scrambled some eggs and actually opened the blinds and stared out into the clear white lot next to me. I bet the landlord is going to be pissed about those tire tracks. Someone must have been driving drunk, or maybe some kids were being stupid. There’s a huge three-sixty carved in the lot and then it looks like they drove straight at my rent house and past my back window, through the side yard to the other street next to me. Can’t believe I didn’t hear that. Must have been really deep in sleep. Plus the electric heater in the bedroom is pretty loud. Still. Creepy.

 

February 2, 2014 – Landlord called me at work today and asked about the tire tracks. I told him I had noticed them after the fact, but had no clue who it was. He said he’d called the police to investigate and they’d asked around at various houses. No one knew who it was.

Damn dogs are barking. They usually stop by now. Hope they shut up before I got to bed.


 

This piece is roughly edited and nowhere near complete.  It originates from the writing exercise called, “Journalism,” in Brian Kiteley’s book, The 3 A.M. Epiphany.  It’s supposed to tell a story without telling it through a narrator journal, where the narrator might not see the underlying story either.

One thought on “Neighborhood

Speak!

