Promises to Not Keep

I don’t like using the word “never.”  Still, I think it’s called for today.

Never say you’ll do something “when hell freezes over.”  In the world we live in today that isn’t such a far-fetched scenario.  In fact, I said I felt like going to work maybe when the bowels of Hades burped dry ice (how many ways can you say “hell freezes over?”), and it began raining down a storm of hail stones about five minutes ago.  Frozen little pebbles flailed against my tin roof rent house and buffeted my little Toyota Yaris parked in the drive.  I ask you – is it not nearly April?

Earthquakes and Tsunamis, hurricanes and tornadoes, mudslides and flash floods, blizzards … this is our little rock in space now.   There’s really nowhere you can live these days where a natural disaster of some kind isn’t possible.  My point?  Don’t base your safety on geography, and don’t set conditions for your compliance or behavior contingent on a raging, hormonal lady nature that you have absolutely no control over.

Speak!

