Flow (a childish tribute to e.e. cummings)

do i stay or do i go?
which to ebb and what to flow?
keep my life an even keel
charring what is left to feel?
make a move while in my prime
or should i live the life of crime?

what to do, which door to choose
quit the game, or win, or lose
tell a tale, or spin a lie
bite my tongue or have a cry
chip a tooth or break a bone
playing tag while all alone?
freak of nature, Heaven sent
doomed to picture memories bent
amusing no one
carrying a ton.

pity me, monster manunkind
not, i got only what i brought
sift through sobbing
stories bobbing
down memory lane
inside, insane
me.


 

I went looking for my favorite e.e. cummings poem and found this little blessing – Thanks to Mr. Jason McLaughlin for arranging it with my favorite instrument (aside from my mac):

Then there’s the actual artist – ee himself reciting his poem … click for more–>

 

5 thoughts on “Flow (a childish tribute to e.e. cummings)

  1. It’s not quite the same “flow” as you write about, but it was fun to write. Your perspective on flow gives me an entirely different direction to go when I become inspired to do this again. I think I wrote this in 1999. Thanks for reading Deborah!

    • I especially like the youTube video of the song version on the original post. That guy took my favorite ee poem and put it to music! Check it out if you missed it.

Speak!

